Greeks come together for annual Standards of Excellence ceremony

The best-performing Greek chapters at FAU were awarded with Standards of Excellence on Feb. 25


Courtesy of the Theta Kappa chapter of Alpha Delta Pi.

Gabby Alvarado, Contributing Writer

Disclaimer: The author of this article, Gabby Alvarado, is a member of Alpha Delta Pi.

Hazing, parties and stereotypes are what you usually hear of when talking about Greek life on and off campus. But this misconception changed as 28 fraternities and sororities from all four Florida Atlantic governing Greek councils came together to compete for recognition at the Annual Standards of Excellence (SOE) Awards ceremony.

Hosted by the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life, this years’ ceremony was held on Wednesday, Feb. 25 at 6 p.m. in the Grand Palm Room of the Student Union.

“[To attend the SOE Award Ceremony] is a great moral boost for organizations whether they are receiving awards or not; it’s an incentive to do better next year,” said Morgan Donnelly, political science major and winner of Chapter President of the Year for her term as Alpha Xi Delta’s chapter president.

The Standards of Excellence Awards recognize chapters of all four fraternity and sorority councils with Individual Awards and Chapter Excellence Awards based on the following eight core areas:

  •         Academic Excellence
  •         Leadership Excellence
  •         Member Education Excellence
  •         Fraternity and Sorority Relations Excellence
  •         Community Service Excellence
  •         Philanthropic Excellence
  •         Living Your Ritual Excellence
  •         Brotherhood/Sisterhood Excellence

Chapters gave 45 minute long presentations and provided the judging panel with informational packets to demonstrate their respective chapter’s performance in each one of the eight evaluating areas. The judging panel was comprised of faculty and staff chosen by the staff members of Fraternity and Sorority Life.

After the presentations, the judges deliberated and named the winning chapters that would be recognized at the Annual SOE Award Ceremony. Among the recognized was junior political science major and president of Alpha Tau Omega Felix Hartmann, who won SOE New Member of the Year. “I was so happy to attend because everyone excelled on something and it represents greek unity,” said Hartmann.

Each packet was reviewed and the scores for each category were averaged to determine each chapter’s final score. Exactly 52 awards were given to Greek community members and chapters. Here are the highlights:


Chapter Excellence Awards:

Academic Excellence

College Panhellenic Association: Alpha Delta Pi

Interfraternity Council: Alpha Tau Omega

Multicultural Greek Council: Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.

National Pan-Hellenic Council: Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Leadership Excellence

CPA: Alpha Xi Delta

IFC: Phi Delta Theta

MGC: Alpha Psi Lambda National Fraternity, Inc.

NPHC: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

Philanthropy Excellence

CPA: Alpha Xi Delta

IFC: Alpha Tau Omega

MGC: Lambda Theta Alpha Sorority, Inc.

NPHC: Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

Chapter of the Year:

CPA: Alpha Delta Pi

IFC: Sigma Phi Epsilon

MGC: Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.

NPHC: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.


Individual Excellence Awards

Chapter President of the Year

Alex O’Leary, Sigma Phi Epsilon (IFC)

Morgan Donnelly, Alpha Xi Delta (CPA)

Greek Man of the Year

Scott Jackson, Alpha Tau Omega (IFC)

Greek Woman of the Year

Cassie Smith, Alpha Xi Delta (CPA)


For the full list of award winners click here.