Florida Atlantic University's first student-run news source.


Florida Atlantic University's first student-run news source.


Florida Atlantic University's first student-run news source.


Who chooses the president?


Forty-three people applied to be president, and an 11-member search committee trimmed the list to three. Appointed by FAU’s Board of Trustees (BOT) — the 11-member board charged with making the top decisions for the university — the committee will recommend a candidate, but it does not have the final say on who is hired. After interviewing the final three candidates on Wednesday, March 3, the BOT will vote and choose FAU’s sixth president.

Meet the presidential search committee members:

Nancy Blosser
Chair, FAU Board of Trustees

Presidential Search Committee chair and current chair of the FAU Board of Trustees, Blosser previously served as chair of the BOT Strategic Planning Committee and the Audit and Finance Committee. She is a registered nurse and currently a member of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Advisory Board.

Anne Boykin
Dean, Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing at FAU

As well as being its dean, Boykin is also a professor in the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing. Boykin has authored several books and articles focused on caring, spirituality, and nursing. She is recognized internationally for her nursing scholarship on the importance of caring.

Camille E. Coley
Assistant Vice President, FAU Division of Research

Coley oversees all the university’s research federal appropriations and the day-to-day operations of the Office of Sponsored Programs. Coley also serves as the associate director for FAU’s Center for Ocean Energy Technology. She is also the Division of Research’s representative to the FAU Safety Committee.

David Feder
Member, FAU Board of Trustees

Feder, a 30-year veteran of hotel and resort management, has been recognized for his community service and leadership. He has won several awards, including the Gulf Stream Council Boy Scouts of America Distinguished Citizen Award and the Palm Beach International Film Festival Founder’s Award. Feder currently serves on several community boards, including the Boca Raton Community Hospital Foundation Board and the First United Bank Executive Council.

David J. Gury
Past chairman, FAU Foundation

Gury is a past chairman of the FAU Foundation Board and is serving as chairman of the Scripps Florida Funding Corporation. He was also the founding chairman, CEO and president of Nabi Biopharmaceuticals of Boca Raton, the founding chairman and board member of the Florida Research Consortium, and the founder and past chairman of BioFlorida, where he is a current member of the executive committee.

Timothy O. Lenz
President, FAU University Faculty Senate; member, FAU Board of Trustees

In addition to serving as a member of the Board of Trustees, Lenz is the chair of the Department of Political Science in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, president of the University Faculty Senate, and ex-officio member of the FAU Foundation Board. Lenz teaches and researches American government and public law.

Harry W. Orf
Vice President, Scientific Operations, The Scripps Research Institute

Orf is also a chemistry professor at Scripps Florida. Before Scripps, Orf was director of the Molecular Biology Laboratories at Massachusetts General Hospital and a lead researcher in genetics at Harvard Medical School. Orf is a member of the board of directors of the South Florida Science Museum, the Florida Coalition for Improvement in Math and Science, the Florida Research Consortium, and BioFlorida.

Neale Poller
FAU Alumni Association

After graduating from FAU, Neale Poller attended the University of Miami School of Law. He is currently a partner in Garbett, Stiphany, Allen & Roza, P.A. in Miami. He is certified by the Florida Supreme Court as a Certified Circuit and County Court Mediator. Poller served as president of the FAU National Alumni Association in 2005 and is currently on the FAU Foundation Board of Directors. In 2009, he was named FAU’s Outstanding Broward Alumnus.

Robert J. Stilley
Member, FAU Board of Trustees

Stilley currently serves as the chair of the Board of Trustees Audit & Finance Committee. He has served as president and chief executive officer of HeartCare Imaging, Inc., since 1998, and is also a member of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology and the Society of Nuclear Medicine. He is a founding member of the Society of Cardiovascular Computer Technology. Stilley is a past president of the Martin County Council of 100.

Tiffany Weimar
President, FAU Student Government and member, FAU Board of Trustees

As SG president, Weimar is the only student member of the Board of Trustees. At the state level, she sits on the Florida Student Association Board of Directors, where her duties include lobbying for issues that affect students. Weimar is also a graduate student and an ex-officio member of the FAU Foundation.

Susan Whelchel
Mayor, City of Boca Raton

Whelchel was a Boca Raton City Council member from 1995 to 1999. She then served as deputy mayor from 1999 to 2000 and vice chairman of the Community Redevelopment Agency from 1996 to1999. Whelchel was appointed to a two-year term on the Palm Beach County School Board and then re-elected to the Boca Raton City Council in March 2003 and 2005.

Source: FAU Presidential Search Comittee

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

Do you have something to say? Submit your comments below
All UNIVERSITY PRESS Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *