Football: FAU’s 2013 non-conference schedule released, includes road games against Miami, South Florida and Auburn

Zack Kelberman

Though there are a handful of games still remaining on this year’s docket, FAU’s 2013 non-conference schedule has been announced. Aside from the usual eight Sun Belt conference games set to take place, the Owls will face off with a few unfamiliar foes, including a pair of in-state squads.

Owl Access reported that FAU will play the University of Miami, South Florida, Auburn and New Mexico State next season.

Of the four tilts, only the New Mexico State matchup will be played at home. It will be the second time both teams meet. The Owls lost 35-7 to New Mexico State in 2004.

In fact, FAU doesn’t have a whole lot of history with the rest of their opponents, either. The game against the Hurricanes will be the first time the schools met on the gridiron. It’s the first of a three-game series, with UM coming to Boca Raton in 2015 and the Owls heading to Miami in 2016.

FAU takes on USF for the third consecutive time on the road, and plays Auburn for the second time in three years. Last season, the Tigers defeated the Owls, 30-14.

Once the Sun Belt finalizes the schedule, it will be released in its entirety.